Kami and Canvas Integration

23 Jul

AP Lang classes typically involve lots of free-form annotations.  I’ve had students annotate using the highligher and comment tool in Google Docs, but there’s nothing quite like the drawing element of free-form annotations.

Entrance, Kami.

Kami is an annotation tool that is really quite impressive.  It is easy to use, and integrates nicely with Canvas.  My system has pushed Kami and Canvas to all student G-Suite accounts, so it’s ready for them to use.

Setting up a Kami doc

Beginning in Google Docs.  Canvas works well with finding assignments in Google Drive, so it’s an easy place for to start.  Set up a Google Doc as you would a paper worksheet.  Create directions, use the drawing tool to add elements like boxes or images.  Here’s one that I set up for my students. All of the text in the box was created in Draw and then inserted as an image.

Once the doc is created, it’s time to add it to Canvas. Create an assignment in Canvas (I always begin in Modules as I find it helps me to stay organized.). The Kami blog has fabulous directions. I pulled these screenshots from https://help.kamiapp.com/en/articles/3161100-using-kami-s-canvas-integration-upgraded

All of that works great! I’m still figuring out grading responses. Only some of my students’ assignments show up in SpeedGrader. All of my students’ assignments are now in a folder in my Google Drive titled “Kami”. It’s fabulous. So yes, I can grade them all there, but it means opening one doc at a time, while speedgrader allows me to flip through assignments quickly. So a task for the future is checking in with my students about whether they all chose turn in, or just a few. I don’t think that Kami automatically saves like Google Docs does, yet I can see that they completed the assignment through Google Drive. Hopefully I’ll be able to update this post soon.

One other thing I’ve learned is that if I want to share a doc that I annotate in Kami and save as a pdf, even if I post the link or embed the doc, I still need to change the sharing privileges in Google Drive so that my students can access it.

2 Responses to “Kami and Canvas Integration”

  1. kaley Veater September 10, 2020 at 4:26 pm #

    did you ever figure out why some student submissions in Kami weren’t showing up? I am trying to help teachers right now… but no luck. Came across your blog and was hoping you found an easy fix. 🙂

    • kibecker September 11, 2020 at 8:03 am #

      Unfortunately I haven’t figured it out yet. I’ve started using the Google Docs LTI and there are glitches with that too-some students don’t have submit buttons (but I can still see their docs in my Drive.) I am noticing that the browser makes a big difference. EVERYTHING in Canvas works better through Google Chrome.

Leave a comment